News Flash Home
The original item was published from 2/21/2021 3:51:10 PM to 2/21/2021 4:00:37 PM.

News Flash

News & Announcements

Posted on: February 21, 2021

[ARCHIVED] White House Partially Approves Governor Abbott’s Request For A Major Disaster Declaration


AUSTIN - Governor Greg Abbott today announced that President Biden has partially
approved Texas’ request for a Major Disaster Declaration. The Governor Requested the
Major Disaster Declaration on Thursday for Individual Assistance and Public Assistance in all
254 counties. The Biden administration approved the request for Individual Assistance in 77
counties and for Public Assistance (Emergency Protective Measures Only) in all 254

The Governor and the Texas Division of Emergency Management will continue to work to
ensure the federal government provides appropriate assistance to individual Texans as well
as to the state and local governments.

“I thank President Biden for his assistance as we respond to impacts of winter weather
across our state,” said Governor Abbott. “While this partial approval is an important first
step, Texas will continue to work with our federal partners to ensure all eligible Texans have
access to the relief they need. The funds provided under the Major Disaster Declaration may
provide crucial assistance to Texans as they begin to repair their homes and address
property damage.”

The Governor requested the Major Disaster Declaration in order to provide Individual
Assistance, Public Assistance, and Hazard Mitigation for individuals and communities
affected by this week’s severe winter weather.

The following counties were approved for Individual Assistance:

Angelina, Aransas, Bastrop, Bee, Bell, Bexar, Blanco, Brazoria, Brazos, Brown, Burleson,
Caldwell, Calhoun, Cameron, Chambers, Collin, Comal, Comanche, Cooke, Coryell, Dallas,
Denton, DeWitt, Ellis, Falls, Fort Bend, Galveston, Gillespie, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hardin,
Harris, Hays, Henderson, Hidalgo, Hood, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Kaufman, Kendall,
Lavaca, Liberty, Madison, Matagorda, Maverick, McLennan, Montague, Montgomery,
Nacogdoches, Nueces, Orange, Palo Pinto, Panola, Parker, Polk, Rockwall, Sabine, San
Jacinto, San Patricio, Scurry, Shelby, Smith, Stephens, Tarrant, Travis, Tyler, Upshur, Van
Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Wharton, Wichita, Williamson, Wilson, and Wise Counties.

Individuals and business owners in counties included in the President’s declaration who
sustained losses in the designated area can begin applying for assistance by registering
online at or by calling 1-800-621-3362 or 1-800462-7585

Official Notice...
Facebook Twitter Email